Do you suffer from migraines?

I have migraines.  These terrible all-body, life-interrupting sessions with pain started in 1998.  At first the migraines were hormonal or stress-related, but now they choose to visit at unpredictable times.  At least, it appears to be unpredictable.

So far, meds do not help.  And ice pack and dark room are my best weapons at this point.

So what is this topic doing on a nutrition blog?  Because I am practicing what I preach and am keeping a food diary of everything that passes through my lips on a daily basis.

My journal is simple, just a small spiral notebook that I keep on the kitchen counter.  At first I was noting food and meds and my calcium supplement.  Now I am including spices and brand names, just in case a food has a particular additive that my brain happens to dislike. 

Also, my journal includes activities during the day, such as working in the yard, and the changes in barometric pressure.

I plan to continue this for many, many weeks, in order to see any pattern to my migraines.

Oh, yes. I am also meditating at least once a day for 20 minutes.  My stretch goal is to increase my sessions to two a day, every day. 

Helpful books that I have read include The Migraine Brain:  Your Breakthrough Guide to Fewer Headaches, Better Health by Carolyn Berstein and Elaine McArdle and Relaxation Revolution:  The Science and Genetics of Mind Body Healing by Herbert Benson and William Proctor.

Wish me luck on my quest for answers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

